Finishing

On Friday, I finished my Laminaria (that’s a Ravelry link – I’ll try to post some pictures here this weekend). I was home from work with a bit of a stomach bug (that just won’t seem to go away!), so I got to spend the day knitting and watching episodes of the X-Files. Of course when I finished the shawl it needed to be blocked, so, genius that I am, I gave my bed over to the Laminaria and spent the rest of the afternoon curled on the futon chair instead. But the important thing is that I got to show off my shawl at the play that night. Who cares if it was 80 degrees and humid?

Speaking of the play, that, too, is finished. As much as I love performing, that first week after a show closes is always nice… suddenly, I have free time in the evenings. I can accept social invitations. I’ll actually see my apartment every day. Very exciting.

Despite feeling a bit crappy, I feel like I did a lot this weekend. Maybe it’s just that everything – walking, standing – took more effort than usual. But on Saturday I actually went to an audition – haven’t done that in a while! And then, having two hours to walk the block between the audition and the ATA theater (where Henry was put on), I made up my mind to finally use my Border’s gift card. I ended up getting Lace Style and Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitting Without Tears. Now, I had gone to Borders at least twice before with the same goal in mind, and left without being able to decide on a book, so this is a big deal. I’m especially excited about Knitting Without Tears – my first EZ book. I love the style of her writing, and her relaxed attitude toward the generally accepted “rules” of knitting.

As fun as buying books was, last night was by far the highlight of the weekend. V and I went with a few friends to Radio City Music Hall to see Eddie Izzard. That man is hillarious. At the end of the show, our faces hurt from laughing. There’s not much else I can say, really.

And so closed a full weekend.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Finishing”

  1. penny Says:

    Aaah.. that explains the new items in your queue! Yay for breathing space! I get to breath Wednesday night, well, then hold my breath and see if I passed. I should’ve taken a “normal” psych course instead of a business course teaching psych concepts. 😉

    I await your photos! I’m sure it’s luverly!

Leave a Reply

