A Knitter’s Dilemma

Just as a warning, this will be incredibly boring for non-knitters. Sorry.

I have a knitting dilemma. Nothing life-or-death, or even terribly exciting, but it’s something that comes up often enough that I thought I should mention it.

I’ve been working on my Laminaria (that’s a Ravelry link – login required) for a while now, and it’s been going incredibly smoothly. The pattern is complex enough to be interesting, but repetitive enough to still be relaxing, and by following a few rules – the main one being “No Lace On The Morning Commute” – I have been error-free. Until now.

I was halfway through the first edging chart when I noticed that two repeats (two tiny little repeats out of ten? 20? I don’t know, but it’s a lot) didn’t line up the way they should with the row below. Each time, I looked back in my current row – no mistakes. So… I cheated. The first time, I knit three together instead of two; the second time I knit one instead of knitting two together. Simple, barely noticeable fixes, and the rest of the row worked out fine.

Now, however, I feel tormented. Because the shawl is so big, I can’t spread it out to see the full pattern, and the potential damage that I’ve done. Normally, this wouldn’t bother me so much – as I said above, this comes up from time to time, and if the root of the problem isn’t clear, I don’t mind these little cheats. But, whether it’s because things have gone so well so far, or because I’m afraid any error will be hugely noticeable after blocking, this time is different.

And so, the question: to tink or not to tink? Do I backtrack the last 3 rows (since I know that my cheating row was otherwise fine, and there is a stockinette row before and after it that I don’t think I messed up)? Let me emphasize that I am at the end of a crescent-shaped shawl, and these are long rows. Or do I continue ahead, ignoring this gnawing feeling, hoping that the next rows lines up and that I won’t discover my glaring errors upon blocking?

On the positive side, if this weren’t such an enjoyable pattern I wouldn’t even consider this stitch-by-stitch backtracking… part of me kind of wants to make this project last a bit longer.

I’ll let you know in my next post how everything turns out!

One Response to “A Knitter’s Dilemma”

  1. penny Says:

    try to stretch out a small section and see how it looks, both up semi-close (because if you’re like me you’ll finger it when you block/wear it and look at it) and from a distance.

    i’m not really familiar with the pattern to offer more advice than that.

    you did lifeline didn’t you? the photos you have posted look gorgeous!!

    good luck.

Leave a Reply

