A sweater, a Harlot, and the return to blogging

For a while now, I’ve been thinking about starting the ol’ blog up again. I’ve been doing some temp work, but lately the jobs have been few and far between (recession, anyone?), leaving me with a lot of free time. I’ve also joined Ravelry and I’ve been wanting to have blog posts to reference. The final motivation, however, came tonight at Stephanie Pearl-McPhee‘s book signing. When I mentioned to a fellow knitter there that I’m going to be starting grad school in the fall, she recommended blogging regularly as a way to get used to writing on a deadline. So, I haven’t figured out how often I’ll be writing, but you can expect to see new posts here much more often (4 or 5 times a week). There may be more of the knitting and boring daily life stuff than previously, but I’ll try to make it as interesting (and topical) as possible.

To start things off, here’s what I’ve been working on lately- please forgive the photo quality (and ugly floor background):

Insect Boy sweater

This is for the first of three babies due in May. The recipient’s mother is known as Insect Girl in our band (caution: music is hilarious, but NOT safe for work!) so I wanted to make an “Insect Boy” sweater for the baby. It’s my first baby sweater (and my second finished sweater ever), so I’m rather excited. The pattern is my own, based on measurements for Chaos (12 mo. size), and the yarn is Knit Picks Shine Sport.

More to follow tomorrow!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “A sweater, a Harlot, and the return to blogging”

  1. penny Says:

    Yay! That insect boy sweater is awesome!! 🙂 I wish you lots of luck with the baby knitting and hope that my writing advice really does help.

    For me, regular posting has produced two benefits:
    1) I can write on a deadline. It’s helped my editing skills a little (I need help with that still).
    2) It makes sure that each day I take some time for myself which is sometimes hard to do when large deadlines and stress loom, but it’s kept me pretty sane.

    The other thing I have done for the past three years is NaNoWriMo. It borders on insanity to do it while in school and working, but gave me the deadline-writing skills to make my current semester requirements non-stressful.

    I’ll have to check out your band and I do like that Shine Sport. Thank you for letting me pet it last night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

