Four months later

That’s right, it’s been over four months since I’ve written here. How long is that? Well, it’s long enough for me to have forgotten my password… and my username… and even the address. Yeah. My apologies to anyone who didn’t forgotten the address and has come here looking for new stuff.
So, what’s been going on in these four months?

Politically: Our scandal-a-day government has continued to be, for lack of a better word, ridiculous. The country elected a House and Senate full of Democrats for a reason, but our dear president doesn’t seem to understand this. His main method of dealing with people, policies, or countries that he doesn’t like appears to be the silent treatment. Rather than, say, talking, or trying to reach a compromise, he refuses to acknowledge any opposing party or opinion. The latest example is, of course, the effort to get troops out of Iraq- his pledge to continue vetoing any bill that involves a timetable for withdrawal- but it seems to be a hallmark of his presidency.

If you need an extra reason to be outraged at the way things are being run in this war, listen to this.

Musically (now that I’ve vented a little): In April, I quit the long-term temp job I had been at, in order to focus more on auditioning. It’s been an interesting experience: every day that I don’t have temp work, I try to go to at least 1 or 2 auditions. Which pretty much means I wait. And wait. And, with luck, get to sing for a minute. Not the most exciting way to spend a day, but it’s why I came to New York.

I get to sing a little more during rehearsals- “George M. Cohan in His Own Words” opens (and closes) June 9th, so we’re approaching crunch time. Next Saturday, the NYC cast members get loaded into a van headed for Lake Placid, where we will finally meet the rest of the cast and spend a week rehearsing and enjoying not being in the city.

“Legend of the Killer Sheep” is not quite as far along… the goal is to do some workshops and have a script written by August. But it’s a musical about killer sheep, so it’s worth the wait. (Here are the guys responsible for this one, and some songs that will be featured in the show.)

Knittingly: Not much. I’m nearly done a (round!) blanket for my cousin’s new baby, but other than that, the knitting has stagnated a bit. Not for lack of interest, however: in February, all of my typing and mouse-using and stapling and staple removing (and, yes, knitting) conspired to give me carpal tunnel syndrome in my right wrist. So the projects I had been working on then (socks, gloves) have not progressed at all since- it’s a teensy bit frustrating. (Incidentally, this is also part of the reason for my hiatus here.)

And now you have a very brief synopsis of life since my last post. Stay tuned, and maybe there will be another before September!

Leave a Reply

